Call for papers

Abstracts are invited for oral presentations (30-minute presentation plus 10-minute discussion) on any topic that contributes to improving our understanding of the syntactic variation of Catalan and Spanish dialects, including, but not limited to the following issues:

- Synchronic syntactic phenomena that manifest dialectal variation in Catalan and/or Spanish (Bonet 2008, Bonet & Mascaró 2012, Camus 2005, Fernández-Ordóñez 1999, 2009, 2011, Ordóñez 2000, 2007, RAE-ASALE 2009-2011, etc.)
- Diachronic syntactic phenomena that manifest variation in Catalan and/or Spanish (Bartra 2005a,b, 2007, Batllori & Hernanz 2009, 2011, Company Company 2007-2009, Fernández-Ordóñez 2012, etc. )
- Syntactic phenomena present in Catalan and/or Spanish, and other Romance languages (Portuguese, Italian, French, Romanian, etc.; Costa 2000, D’Alessandro et al. 2010, Dobrovie-Sorin 1994, Kayne 2000, 2005, etc.)
- The limits of syntactic variation in the present context of ‘Parameter Theory’ (Baker 2008, 2009, Biberauer 2008, Biberauer et al. 2010, Roberts & Holmberg 2010, Newmeyer 2005, and others)

Submission of Abstracts:

Abstracts should be at most two pages long (A4 paper), including examples and references, with 1 inch/2.5 cm margins on all sides and 12pt font size. The abstract should have a title but should not identify the author(s). Submissions are limited to 1 individual and 1 joint abstract per author, or 2 joint abstracts per author. Abstracts should be written in one of the languages of the workshop. Abstracts must be submitted electronically, ONLY in PDF format to the following address:

The body of the message should include the title of the abstract, the name of the author(s), his/her (their) affiliation(s) and contact details. 

Languages of the workshop: Catalan, English, Spanish

Deadline for submission of abstracts: February 17, 2013

Notification of acceptance:
 March 31, 2013

Organizing Committee:
Ángel J. Gallego, M. Lluïsa Hernanz, Francesc Roca, Avel·lina Suñer 

Scientific Committee:
Ignacio Bosque, José M. Brucart, Cristina Buenafuentes, Glòria Claveria, Violeta Demonte, Luis Eguren, Arantzazu Elordieta, Ricardo Etxepare, Olga Fernández-Soriano, Pilar García Mouton, Rodrigo Gutiérrez Bravo, Aritz Irurtzun, Alazne Landa, Luis López, Pedro Martín Butragueño, Jaume Mateu, Javier Ormazábal, Isabel Pérez-Jiménez, Carme Picallo, Gemma Rigau, Juan Romero, Joana Rosselló, Liliana Sánchez, Cristina Sánchez López, Carlos Sánchez, Myriam Uribe-Etxebarria, Luis Vicente